Home of the world's largest mallard duck, Andrew is located in the
northeast of Lamont County on Secondary Highway 855, and south of
Highway 45. Andrew is also three km northwest of Whitford Lake which is
a major flyway for waterfowl. A must see for bird watchers, especially
in the spring and fall. While you are in Andrew, visit the Andrew Museum
and climb aboard the caboose car. if you would like to "putter around"
a little, stop by the Andrew Mini-golf for an enjoyable round of mini golf.
Telephone: (780) 365-3687 Fax: (780) 365-2061 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
"Place of History for Your Future"
Bruderheim, "Home of the Brethren" is a quiet community located on
Highway 45 along the west boundary of the Lamont County. The old Walker
School Building is one of their historic sites. Bruderheim hosts their
annual Old Country Fair from September 5th to September 7th.
The settlement of Bruderheim was established in 1894 and the town now boasts
a population of 1200 plus.
Telephone: (780) 796-3731 Fax: (780) 796-3037 Email: email@example.com
The village of Chipman, more fondly known as "Coyote Country", is located
11 km east of Lamont on Highway 15. Prior to 1905, Chipman District was
part of the North West Territories. In 1905 the Canadian National Railway
was laid, a town site was surveyed and a railway station and water tower
were built. The settlement and later village was named after Clarence Campbell
Chipman, secretary to the Commissioner of Railways. A monument erected
in the village church grounds commemorates Wasyl Eleniak, the first Ukrainian
settler to arrive in the west. Chipman is home of the Edmonton Soaring
Club and welcomes visitors from all across Canada to "Come Soar with Us."
Chipman, a small community, is doing "big things" to become a leader in
protecting the environment. The result is "Village Green", a comprehensive
recycling project involving all 239 residents of the community.
Telephone: (780) 363-3982 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
The hamlet of Hilliard is located a short distance east of the village
of Chipman on Highway 15 and was named after the first station agent, Frank
Hilliard. Hilliard was a bustling community established in 1905. In the
late 20's and early 30's a steel foundry and lumberyard were based in
Hilliard. Part of Hilliard's history is being preserved at the Ukrainian
Cultural Heritage Village where you can step back in time and visit the
Hilliard Hotel. Hilliard offers a chance to "green" your home and yard
with its plant offerings from the local greenhouse.
"City Living Country Style"
The town of Lamont is situated on Highway 15, five km north of Elk
Island National Park. Lamont's population is approximately 1600, and within
this town, the Lamont County's administration building is located to serve
the residents of the county. Lamont serves as a trading center for over
17,000 people and is located in an area that early settlers described as
"the nicest open country a person could wish for." Lamont's Fair Days at
the end of July are an exciting time for visitors and residents. A pancake
breakfast, rodeo activities, and a trade fair are all part of the festivities.
Lamont boasts a driving range, tennis courts, fishing hole and a community
Telephone: (780) 895-2010 Fax: (780) 895-2595 Email:
"The Small Town With A Big Heart"
The town of Mundare is located at the junction of Highway 15 and Highway
16. A rich Ukrainian culture and history is evident throughout this small
community and surrounding area. The Basilian Fathers Museum and Shrine
are perfect for an afternoon visit or as an extension to a tour of the
nearby Ukrainian immigrants and the traditions that aided their new lives.
Mundare has a newly developed campsite, fully serviced with 25 stalls.
Beaverhill Lake, just west and south of town, offers an extraordinary opportunity
to view over 200 species of birds and wildlife. Mundare's Agridaze is celebrated
on the third weekend in August.
Telephone: (780) 764-3929 Fax: (780) 764-2003 Email: email@example.com
The hamlet of St. Michael originated in 1928, when the Canadian Pacific
Railway made its way west from Lloydminster to Edmonton. It was named
after the local church, the St. Michael Roman Catholic Church and is located
in the center of Lamont County between Wostok and Star. Over the intervening
years, St.. Michael has undergone many changes and now serves the surrounding
area with several small businesses. We pay tribute to those early pioneers
and thank them for their part in St. Michael's history.
In 1892 John Duncan Campbell settled on the Victoria Trail near Beaver
Creek. Across the trail, Ed Knowlton build a store and a post office an
named it Edna for his daughter. In 1900, the post office was moved to the
Campbell house and renamed Star. In 1905, the hamlet was moved building
by building to what is now Lamont. In 1928 the Canadian Pacific Railway
was built 1.5 km north of the original Star. The post office was moved
there in 1929 and the new hamlet became Star. The community was a major
centre for grain transport, supported three stores and a car dealership.
Today Star consists of a few residents but anyone who lived in Star for
any length of time will remember it with fondness.
The settlement of Wostok is south of Highway 45, a short distance west
of Andrew. The Wostok post office was established in 1899 followed by the
establishment of a number of businesses. The name "Wostok" was borrowed
from the Russian language meaning the direction "east". Theodore Nemirsky
was the first postmaster at Wostok and on July 1, 1899 the Post Office
was officially opened. In 1897 a priest and Deacon visited the area from
Seattle and conducted the first Russian Greek Orthodox Church service on